BISI Students Rock!

A list of BISI student awards and achievements from 2015:

  • Kun Wang (CBBG, Cao Lab) presented a talk at the ACM-BCB15.  He was awarded a NSF Travel Award to attend the meeting.
  • Rachel Shahan (MOCB, Liu Lab) was recently awarded a NIFA Graduate Fellowship.  Congrats to Rachel.
  • Congratulations to Sri Pratima Nandamuri (PSYS, Carleton lab) who was awarded a travel award after her successful presentation at the FASEB Biology and Chemistry of Vision.
  • Alex Novarro (BEES, Lips Lab) was recently awarded an Exploration Fund Grant (Explorers Club); SSAR Grant-in-Herpetology (Soc. for Study of Amphibians), and the Margaret Walton Fellowship (Mountain Lake Biological Station).
  • Edward Hurme (BEES, Wilkinson Lab) was the recipient of two grants: one from the National Geographic Young Explorers and one from the Animal Behavior Society.
  • Micki Kuhlman (MOCB, Simon Lab) was recently given the "Outstanding Performance in Botany" award.
  • Mona Orr (MOCB, Lee Lab) was presented with the best poster award at the International Symposium on c-di-GMP Signaling in Bacteria conference.
  • Noor White (BEES, Braun/Mitter Lab) was awarded the Ernest Mayr Award, which is given to the presenter of the outstanding student talk in the field of systematics at the annual meetings of the Society of Systematic Biologists.
  • Noor White (BEES, Braun/Mitter Labs) and Carly Muletz (BEES, Lips Lab) have advanced to the second round in the UMD 3MT Thesis competition.  
  • Cora Johnston (BEES, Gruner Lab) was awarded the Graduate School's Outstanding Graduate Assistant Award for 2014-15.  Congrats Cora!
  • Juannan Zhou (BEES, Dudash/Fenster/ZImmer lab) has been awarded an NSF Dissertation Improvement Grant.
  • Madhvi Ventkatraman (BEES, Gruner/Fleischer/James lab) was awarded both a CIC Fellowship AND an NSF predoctoral fellowship.  Congratulations to Madhvi!
  • Vasudevan Achuthan (MOCB, DeStefano Lab) was awarded the prestigious Stephanie and Richard Vogel Graduate Student award for Spring 2015.
  • Dr. Antony Jose and students Sinduja Ravanapally and Snusha Ravikumar featured in CMNS News.